Adding sugar

Discussion in 'General Beer Brewing Discussion' started by Richiejw, May 9, 2019.

Help Support The Homebrew Forum UK by donating:

1. May 9, 2019 #1

Richiejw

Richiejw

Richiejw

Hi everyone, this is my first post and as you will tell I'm new to home brewing and am keen to lean from experienced brewers. I am due to bottle this evening should I add sugar to each bottle or add the sugar to the brewing bucket before I syphon to the bottles.

Thanks in advance

Richie

2. May 9, 2019 #2

Drunkula

Drunkula

Drunkula

Landlord.

Boil a bit of water with the total sugar in it, sling it in the bucket - no need to wait for it to cool - syphon the beer on top of it. Some people do put the sugar in the bottles. I think it's retarded unless you've got about 5 bottles. Come at me!

steve denholm and chthon like this.
  3. May 9, 2019 #3

-Bezza-

-Bezza-

-Bezza-

Landlord.

Welcome.

There is an element of preference here but, for me, if you have a separate bucket available from which to bottle, it would make sense to dissolve the sugar and put it into this bucket and then transfer the beer in, giving a little stir at the end. Leave for an hour, then bottle. Go careful not to splash when you transfer and bottle and don't stir too vigorously.

If you're bottling straight from the FV, as Drunkula says. Again, give a little stir (but don't upset the yeast cake at the bottom). Leave for an hour to let the yeast settle down again and then bottle.

As you're new, can I just check what beer you've made and how long it has been fermenting? A mistake I'm sure most people made when doing their first brews was to bottle too early.

4. May 9, 2019 #4

Rog.T.B.

Rog.T.B.

Rog.T.B.

I prefer to add 1/2 teaspoon of sugar to the pint bottle, it saves disturbing the sediment and it’s no big deal.

5. May 9, 2019 #5

the baron

the baron

the baron

Landlord.