Brewing beer in a heat wave

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Desmnd

Reaction score
Update. I brewed a St. Peters red ruby ail (which does not have a finings in it). I had it for 14 days with the SG going up and down in this heat wave(UK) and I even stirred it as well. I added a small amount of CO2 to get some pressure in it (beer is not the same as water) and after a few hours it was maintaining the pressure.

It is now 2 weeks in the KK and it is showing no signs of clearing. I do not know if this beer is destroyed. The only avenue I have is to DECANT it into another KK leaving what if any sediment is their, adding at least on of my Youngs liquid finings and re-primming it. Never brewed in a heatwave before and will never do this again.

Will one finings work, should ~I use all 4 or is this now a destroyed beer? I have been brewing for over 50 years but never experianced this.

I am out of my experience here (don't keg) , but here goes.

I doubt it is destroyed. It just isn't right.... if the only problem is it won't clear. Buy a ceramic pint pot 😁. Or write hazy on the label 'very on trend'

How does it actually taste?

I can't see why you can't open it, add finings, gently stir, re-gas. And follow the instructions on the pack.

After 14 days I transfered it into another KK and added some more sugar and 2 youngs liquid finings. After another week (3 in total) it is a bit better. I have a middle tap KK with a float. So I am taking from what should be the clearest.

Maybe I should have done my Skelmersdale dark beer. That is jet black.

Remember that hazy beer is not bad beer.
I would possibly keep a packet of high temp yeast which you can swap out if you brew in a similar situation.
Kveik is good and Novolager for Lagers with these 2 at least you will get a good drinkable beer it just maybe not exactly to type but handy to have