Constant blockage

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dordoor

Reaction score
Hello folks,

I am still new to brewing few (5 exactly) successful brew under my belt.

There is a question that I need to ask from you experienced brewers.

I am using a brewzilla gen 4 and I keg my beer. All the 5 brew blocked my spigot and pump, after boiling and chilling transfering was an issue. Well, the second time this happened I did something that was a little counterproductive I guess. I blow into the recirculating arm that unblocked the bottom part hence I was able to transfer the wort to the fermenter. I use a hop basket for hopping also when I transfer the wort I use the same hop basket to filter again. Still loads of small hop particles goes through this sieve. Beers turn out good with the silly method of blowing into the wort 🙄

Yesterday I tried making a hops water. All good but blocked the brewzilla again, blew in and transferred. The small hops particles now blocked the keg's tube nothing comes out of the keg. Ordered a floating dip tube but I would rather eliminate this issue with a more accurate filtering. If this is only me facing this every single time than I do something wrong.

How do I fix this? Or this is just part of the game. Not really looking to transfer twice...

Thank you for any advice

What micron is the basket? also how is the grist crush is that fine and floury as it may be not helping.
If the hop basket is not fine enough it will let hop debris through, I would try using the veg bags from the supermarket for a change(30p ish) and see if that improves things

What micron is the basket? also how is the grist crush is that fine and floury as it may be not helping.
If the hop basket is not fine enough it will let hop debris through, I would try using the veg bags from the supermarket for a change(30p ish) and see if that improves things