Novice Home Brewer with passion for Real Ale

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MobBarley

Reaction score
Hello everyone, like i said I'm completely new to the home brew scene but i've been enjoying sampling allsorts of alcoholic treats for many a year currently running barebones fermenting bin with Edme Irish Stout nothing major but recommended by a good friend as a starting point, will be ready in a couple of days :drink: I'm sure you guys can assist me in my progression from using kits to ingredient mixing etc but i,m in no rush gonna try a few kits first get a good feel for it. Anyways I'm sure i'll picking a few brains sooner or later.

Thanks

Matt

P.s is there any chocolate stout kits out there?

Hi & welcome on board!

There's loads of sound advice and vast range of experience on here and everyone has something to say that's worth listening to...

Chocolate stout? :hmm: not sure, you could try adding some essences or flavourings to a standard brew, mix your sugars up a bit, add a mug of strong coffee, pretty much anything is worth a go to get the flavour you want...

welcome to the MobBarley :D I like the name.
i havent seen any choc stout kits on any of my kit shopping trips but coopers irish stout is a good kit and if you want to choc it up you could add chocolate essence or maybe hot choc mix at the sugar adding stage.
im going for a coffee stout after trying a pint of double esspresso stout. :D

Welcome, welcome mr. barley

Enjoy making the kits. Im a recent convert to the all grain side of things and I'm not looking back. Be careful new boy, these boys welcomed me to the dark side a few weeks back, now I know what they mean, brewing is truly an addiction!

Hi, and welcome to the forum.