pots and pans brewer

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ibrewthereforeiam

Reaction score
Hey, I'm sitting here brewing my oktoberfest...a little late in the year I know but I haven't joined a site ever and this one seems kinda interesting.

I have been brewing for 13 years now, both professionally and at home.
I could talk brewing all day long so if anybody has any questions I'd love to try and answer!

I say pots and pans brewer as the subject matter because, I literally brew all grain batches of beer in my kitchen using pots and pans. I haven't ever really bought anything fancy, and with these pots and pans...I have won awards doing so. I think the nicest thing I've bought myself is a 10 gallon igloo for my mash tun. My point is, if you're starting out...don't think you have to drop $1000 on fancy equipment. I have seen a lot of people try this out and end up selling their stuff because it's not what they expected. Brewing beer is 90% cleaning, 8% brewing and 2% trying it.

So with that...Cheers!!

I'm off to start lautering...

Hi and welcome, tell us about your professional brewing. We have had a few join from your side of the pond recently.

I'm glad I'm not the only one who never moved on. I started out with an extract kit and 1 gallon demijohn, boiling up on the hob and never saw a need to get tooled up. I just joined too, I have trawled forums for advice but never got involved till now.

I enjoy the brew process and usually brew small batches so i can brew more often.

I'm so pleased to see this thread!

I want to move from kits to BIAB but I don't have the room (or money) to buy 40-50 ltr pots (and I don't want to brew in that quantity anyway).

I'm going to buy a 17ltr pot from TK Maxx but that's as far as I want to go and I'm happy to see that you guys have been happy with pots and pans brewing. :)