BIAB Idea...

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MrBarrySir

Reaction score
This may be the stupidest thing that's ever been asked...

Would it be possible to do a BIAB brew with two bags together? As in one that lifts the grains out after mash then one that stays in for the boil that lifts out the larger sediment parts and hops alleviating the need for a hop strainer?

A bag inside a bag - Double-bagging - Is this a thing already?! :geek:

You can never be too careful whilst brewing.

(on the plus side, this thread may show up to a whole new Google audience...)

That is quite an interesting question! I am quite new to BIAB myself and I do have to brew bags. I've not really had a prob with hops etc being left in my boiler as I did get a hop strainer to fit to my tap - and it works great.

It is still a faff having to dispose of the hops from the bottom of the boiler at the end of the boil though, and giving it a clean out would be easier if the hops were removed via a bag. I can't actually see why it wouldn't work.

yep but you dont need to double bag, just pull the grain bag and then install the hop bag or probably better to make it a hop spider perhaps or just a simple tied sock?? ? as a fine mesh damp bag lipping over the pot wall tied with a drawstring could make a partial if not full seal and balloon up with the steam of a boil scattering hot scalding hops ;( ..

my hop spider setting up..
10369303376_5a0847b2ce_c.jpg

the silicone hose is the return from a pump attached to the drain which recirculates the boil thru the hop bag.

and in use,

10369778833_ec654a226e_c.jpg

sorry for rehashing old pics..