Mash and sparge water amounts advice for a hop bomb in a Grainfather

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hammer

Reaction score
Hi all
I'm quite new to brewing, only just brewed 2 beers from recipes so far. I think it's a lot of fun though, so I got myself a Grainfather and I'm now working on a recipe for my 3rd beer. It's quite inspired by asha23's Verdant Putty clone (link to that here), but using a some different hops and grains.

Here's what I'm planning:
Grain
5kg Golden Promise
1kg Maris Otter
1kg flaked oats
1kg cane sugar

Yeast
London Ale III

Hops
50g Simcoe - 30 mins hop stand/whirlpool @ 80 degrees celsius
50g Mosaic - 30 mins hop stand/whirlpool @ 80 degrees celsius
50g Citra - 30 mins hop stand/whirlpool @ 80 degrees celsius

50g Simcoe - dry hop, day 0
50g Mosaic - dry hop, day 0
50g Citra - dry hop, day 0
50g Nelson Sauvin - dry hop, day 0

50g Simcoe - dry hop, day 7
50g Mosaic - dry hop, day 7
50g Citra - dry hop, day 7
50g Nelson Sauvin - dry hop, day 7

Bottle at day 14.

Question
My recipe should be for a 25 L batch, based on other recipes I've seen. But I can't seem to find any information as to how much water to use while mashing, and how much I'll need when sparging to come up to 25/27 L. Any advice? Would love to hear any input!

The Grainfather has it's own water calculations.

Mash Volume = 2.7 L per kg grain + 3.5 L
Sparge Volume = Target Pre-Boil - Mash Vol + 0.8 x kg grain
Target Pre-Boil = Batch Volume + 2 + 3 per hour boil

So, you want 25 L in the FV, 1 hr boil means you need 30 L pre-boil which is going to be brim full and a bit risky. 7 kg grain gives 22.4 L strike water and 13.2 L sparge. With that much grain your efficiency is likely to suck, you could run a thicker mash (2.3 L/kg) which moves 2.8 L from mash to sparge and will help a bit but the mash is sometimes very thick when I do that.