All Grain DIY Kit

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BrewerRS

Reaction score
Hi All,

I'm sure this has been discussed at length but prices in the past may be different to what they are now.

I've been brewing beer for a few years now but only from kits, tweaking here and there as you do.

My question is simple but the answer may be complex.

How much, in your opinion, could I put an AG equipment kit together for? I'm reasonably handy when it comes to making things myself. But I'm a complete beginner when it comes to making beer from scratch. What are the basic materials I need, i.e.mashtun, pan big enough for boil etc. I want to make 4-5 gallon batches.

Any advice you can give would be great. If this has been covered recently, please point me to the thread.

Thanks

I recently moved from kits to BIAB (brew in a bag) AG brewing.

You will need,
50L SS pot. £80
Grain bag. £20
Wort chiller £35

Two choices as to how you mash/boil your wort.
Either an electric boiler, or do as I do, use a propane gas burner in my (well ventilated) shed.

With BIAB you heat your mash water to 73deg or so, add your grains and mash for an hour or 90 mins, remove and drain bag and boil the wort adding your hops as you wish. When boiled for the hour rapidly cool with your wort chiller and add to you FV with your yeast.

A very simple method and less complicated than the 'three vessel' route, that said, not as efficient at extracting all thos lovely sugars from the grain, but grain is cheap so I add a bit more to get my desired og.

You will be amazed at the difference in taste....

+1 for this kit. I've been using it extensively for the last 10 months or so. It's reasonably cheap and doesn't take up the space of a 3 vessel system.

So in this method of brewing, you get your water to the desired temperature, mash in and then just let the temp fall?