Beersmith interview

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

clibit

Reaction score
Got an email from Beersmith containing an interview with Dan Morey, the American brewer who created the Morey equation for estimating beer colour.

This was an interesting answer:

Beer brewing has changed a lot since you and I started brewing beer. What advice would you have for today's brewers to make great beer?

Good question. The basic and simple answer is good cleaning and sanitation practices. But this has always been true. One of the biggest changes has been equipment. Seems like HERM and RIM systems abound today. A lot of brewers are paying good money for fancy mash system and I just don't get it. I'd like one, but that is not the first place I'd invest a large chunk on money if I wanted to brew better beer. I mean I know people who have dropped $3-5K on these systems.

There is great beer made from all different kinds of wort from 100% extract, to partial mash, and all grain. What I recommend, when you are ready for a big purchase, invest in temperature control of you fermenters. Get a frig or freezer with a temperature controller, a brew belt, or a heated and cooled conical. By controlling the temperature of your fermentation you can do more to affect the quality of the final product. Hit the correct ester profile, get the right attenuation, limit fusels, have repeatable results. The best made wort may not make the best beer when fermentation is all over the place. Focus you efforts on fermentation before worrying about wort.

Hard to argue with.

If there was a bit of kit I'd like to splash loadsa money on it would be one of those conicals. They really appeal to me.