The all rounders are no more

The Homebrew Forum

Help Support The Homebrew Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Why is it impossible to clean? I've been using 3 Hop and Grape 7-gallon fermenters for about 15 to 20 years. The only reason I've replaced them is because the lids are in tatters.
I've also got 2 SS fermenters and the beer from one is no better or worse than the beer from the other.
I don't know about PET fermenters as I've never had one, but I've never seen a use by date on any kind of fermenter.
I've replaced the 3 with three new plastic fermenters, by the way.
Edit:
Just read this: makebeereasy.com/pressure-fermentation/
I thought I might have a go just in the interest of science, and I still might as I like a pint of lager (and lime). But I tend to work with the seasons and make all my lagers in the winter for drinking in the summer, which means I might have half a dozen on the go at a time. Could be a bit pricy. I like the idea of bottling carbed beer straight from the fermenter, but I really don't think the costs and the faff give sufficient benefits. I'll stick to my home-made Yorkshire squares (only joking) I think.
I'm not sure I want my lager (and lime) to taste like the commercial stuff either. I can buy that cheaply enough by the slab in Tesco.
Lots of good points in there fella. Well done.

Have a TCP taint from a pet fermenter, the second its happened to. Reckon it must be VWP related as chances of two infections taking hold seems improbable. I've cleaned and cleaned, washing up liquid, oxi, campdened. But cannot get chlorine out of the walls, leave water in there for a few hours. And I've got a swimming pool. Anticipating another tank to be chucked as a result. So that's a concern, polarity of PET and chlorine means it's stuck and i can't break it free. With stainless its not permeable so preferable. Thinking I'll pick up a 23l keg and ferment 19-20l batches in there.